The Ventura County Coalition of Labor, Agriculture and Business (VC CoLAB) is a membership organization that was founded in 2010 in response to several pending regulations that threatened agriculture and business in Ventura County.

We are a 501(c)6 non-profit created to build influence by establishing a broad coalition of informed stakeholders, experts and advocates to promote a strong local economy while preserving the local quality of life in Ventura County. We actively promote sensible and rational regulatory oversight and advocate for both businesses and local property rights through monitoring local government actions, providing expertise, research and engaging in educational campaigns to inform our members and the public.

What We Do

VC CoLAB collaborates with partners, public agencies and decision makers to provide sensible solutions for complicated and excessive regulations. We identify and research issues that impact businesses, work with regulatory agencies, engage experts in science, engineering and law, testify at public meetings, and organize stakeholders.

Thanks to memberships and donations to our organization, we are a fully funded, full-time local watchdog seeking to balance environmental, regulatory and economic concerns.

Our Mission

To preserve and support a healthy and expanding economic base by monitoring regulatory policy, educating stakeholders, and representing labor, agricultural and other business interest while protecting the local quality of life.


Chairman – Mark Mooring / Buon Gusto Farms

Vice Chairman – Patrick Loughman / Lowthorp Richards Attorneys

President – Bud Sloan / Sloan Ranches

Vice President – John Hecht / Sespe Consulting

Secretary – Lynn Gray Jensen / Jensen Design & Survey

Treasurer - Melinda Carmichael / UBS Financial Services

Board of Directors:

Richard Atmore / R.A. Atmore & Sons
Bill Camarillo / Agromin
Tim Cohen / Rancho Temescal
Maureen Cottingham / CamLam Farms
Jane Farkas / Carbon California
Alex Teague / Limoneira
Patty Waters / Waters Ranches
Lisa Woodburn / Jensen Design & Survey


Executive Director
Louise Lampara

Director of Development
Rachel E. Culbert-Mastro

Office Manager
Denelle Rutherford

Print Friendly, PDF & Email